Early Childhood Utah Advisory Council

In September 2011, Governor Herbert designated the existing Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems State Team to also function as the State Advisory Council on Early Care and Education, resulting in the creation of Early Childhood Utah. The purpose of the Council is to promote broad statewide coordination and collaboration among a wide range of early childhood programs and services in the state to ensure that Utah children enter school healthy and ready to learn.

The Early Childhood Utah (ECU) Advisory Council is comprised of leaders from the fields of children's health and mental health, early care and education, and parent resource programs. The Council meets four times annually, is chaired by two co-chairs and is staffed by the Early Childhood Utah program within the Department of Health.

The work of the ECU Advisory Council occurs through five standing subcommittees. Each subcommittee has a chair or set of co-chairs that are nominated by the Council and determined by a simple majority of voting members of ECU. The five standing subcommittees include:

  • Promoting Health and Access to Medical Homes
  • Early Care and Education
  • Social, Emotional and Mental Health
  • Parent Engagement, Support, and Education
  • Data, Research and Policy

The ECU Advisory Council Bylaws can be found here.

For more information on the Early Childhood Advisory Council please contact Nicole Bissonette, Program Manager Family and Youth Outreach Program.